Amazing Grace movie…

My wife & I went out on a (rare) date tonight with some friends, and we watched “Amazing Grace”, a movie about William Wilberforce – a British antislavery pioneer from the late 18th and early 19th century.

While it wasn’t the most dramatic and emotionally moving film I’ve ever seen, it stirred something within me that inspired me… motivated me… to think about how I might be able to help cause some ripples to change things for the better in our world today.

Movies sometimes do that. Right when you’re feeling down or unmotivated, a movie will come along that lights a fire inside.

If you’d like to view the trailer and learn more about the film, hop over to http://www.amazinggracemovie.com/

Also, if you’ve seen any good films recently… leave me a comment and share your story. Let me know why you felt it was good, and how it motivated you in “real life”. Stories like that excite me.

By the way… welcome to my new blog! I hope to write often and share different thoughts and ideas with you along the way. I’m still learning how to work this thing… so it might not be that fancy now, but in time I hope to use it as a tool to help reach others with the messages of natural health.

Go ahead and browse around – check out some of the links over to the  -right—>

May you be inspired to become all God created you to be!

Joe

7 Responses to Amazing Grace movie…

  1. Marilyn Mabbett says:

    Yes, I saw this movie last Sunday. I did no what it was about but because Patricia Heaton help produce this movie my family and I wanted to support her efforts, because she is one of the few people in Hollywood who has morals.
    Well, what a surprise, what a great movie!
    I am sooo delighted in receiving your e-mail. We also are spreading the word.
    Marilyn,
    Los Angeles

  2. Larry Martin says:

    Another movie that I highly recommend, and it is now available on DVD, is Conversations With God from The Spiritual Cinema.

    Regards,

    Larry

  3. Marybeth says:

    Hi Joe,
    well you asked for movies that inspired us and I have been deeply touched by a movie called “the Secret” you can find it at http://www.thesecret.tv. Don’t let the trailer fool you , it is a great 90 minute movie filled with interviews and science behind “the law of attraction” You can preview it right on the website for $4.95, then if you want to own it, (like me) you can put that money towards your purchase. It has changed my life and I have been loaning my copy to lots of my friends and it is touching them as well. Also another source for Great inspirational movies is The Spiritual Cinema Circle Spiritual Cinema Circle.com.
    Thanks for the inspirational blog.
    Stay well,
    MB

  4. Ken Grogan says:

    Another very good movie worth seeing for the entire family is called, ” Facing the Giants “. It is an independent film ,produced by the members of a Christian church & school in Georgia,about the struggles of a high school football coach who is under heavy pressure to produce a winning team…or else!!
    You can rent it at Blockbuster & it includes a discussion with the people behind the making of the movie and it also has some “bloopers” that are pretty funny!! I highly recommend it!!

  5. Kathryn Miller says:

    Joe,
    Thanks for your comments about the movie, Amazing Grace. We plan to see it too! We enjoyed “Facing the Giants” by some Christian folks here in Atlanta, GA. It was really inspiring, about a football team working together as a team with their coaches…really good.

    I’m still working through this UTI regime. I did the 12 hour plan, and not much changed. Still was burning, etc. I continue to rest and drink many of the concoctions, I’m feeling better. May it be finished soon in Jesus Name! Thanks for what you are doing. I love beating the “system” too. Antibiotics are a robber, and you have helped others stand against health issues naturally. It does a body “good”. Thank you God for Joe!

    Kathryn

  6. Ramona says:

    …Looking forward to seeing the movies you’ve all recommended. I agree totally with you, Joe, about the capacity of movies to light the fires within for change. Three movies that have very recently inspired me to strive toward my best self, question my purpose in this world (what’s my responsibility to others?), and are now instrumental in helping me redefine and focus my “voice” are: ‘Hotel Rawanda’ (true story, not a family-viewing picture, but a testimony to one person being able to make all the difference in the world), ‘The Five People You Meet In Heaven’ (also a book by Mitch Albom – you can’t ever really know the significance your life holds, but you must never doubt that it is significant to someone – not even necessarily someone you are aware of), and finally ‘Akeelah and the Bee’ (family viewing and a must see) – the following quote is used in the movie, and summarizes it’s message and power:

    “Our deepest fear is not that we are inadequate.

    Our deepest fear is that we are powerful beyond measure.

    It is our light, not our darkness that most frightens us.

    We ask ourselves: “Who am I to be brilliant? Gorgeous? Talented? Fabulous?

    Actually, who are you not to be?

    You are a child of God. Your playing small doesn’t serve the world. There’s nothing enlightened about shrinking so that other people won’t feel insecure around you.

    We are all meant to shine, as children do. We were born to make manifest the Glory of God that is within us. It’s not just in some of us; it’s in everyone.

    And as we let our own light shine, we unconsciously give other people permission to do the same. As we are liberated from our own fear,
    our presence automatically liberates others.”

    by Marianne Williamson
    A Return To Love: Reflections on the Principles of A Course in Miracles
    Harper Collins, 1992, pgs. 190-191

    I was a little lost and drifting recently (and feeling really unwell). All three of these movies have helped to renew and refocus my energy, my faith, and my committment to myself and those I love…. The movies, and little a little help from you, Joe, have reminded me that wellness is truly possible, and that sometimes the ‘cure’ is found in simply trusting that. Thanks.

  7. Tony Damasco says:

    This movie will linger long in my memory due to
    its marvelous and uplifting ending. Made in a (?)South American country w/ English subtitles, it’s a
    story of a father who comes home from work w/ a
    toy for his 5-6 year old daughter who, instead, wants ice cream from a vendor. He lifts and hugs her and while holding her, she DIES IN HIS ARMS
    After her burial, he cannot accept her being in a vault and takes her body out of the above-ground
    vaults only to find that her body has not decayed or corrupted. Seen as a miracle, he begs clergymen
    to attest to his daughter’s sanctity after viewing
    her body in his apartment. Not getting any satisfaction he takes her, in a specially made coffin, to Rome. He gets some interest by a supposed bishop who then steal all his money.
    He then helps his nephew, who’s studying singing
    in Rome, get a part in an important opera. With
    his daughter, he flies back home to his apartment.
    Here is where the movie’s shocking and satisfying end takes place. You’ll long remember MIRACLE IN ROME plus figure out who made the miracle. Movie is over 10 years old and you might have to check local libraries or archives but
    it’s worth it.

Leave a Reply

